The discussion held in executive session has not been approved for release to the public and has thus been deleted from these minutes.

Press Proof (Not for Publication)

## SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## OF THE

## UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS

## MAY 28, 2008

This special meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois was held on Wednesday, May 28, 2008, beginning at 5:15 p.m., in Room 19, Chicago Club, 81 East Van Buren Street, Chicago, Illinois, pursuant to a call by the chair of the Board. The secretary of the Board gave notice of the meeting as prescribed by the bylaws and by Illinois statute.

Chair Lawrence C. Eppley called the meeting to order and asked the secretary to call the roll. The following members of the Board were present:

Mr. Devon C. Bruce, Dr. Frances G. Carroll, Mr. David V. Dorris, Mr. Lawrence C. Eppley, Mr. James D. Montgomery, Dr. Kenneth D. Schmidt, Mr. Niranjan S. Shah, 
Mr. Robert Y. Sperling, Mr. Robert F. Vickrey. Governor Rod Blagojevich was absent. 
Mr. Chime Asonye, voting student trustee from the Urbana-Champaign campus, was absent. The following nonvoting student trustees were absent: Ms. Sarah M. Doyle, 
Springfield campus; Mr. Faizan Shakeel, Chicago campus.

\_

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>Mr. Shah joined the meeting at 5:45 p.m.

2

Also present were President B. Joseph White; Ms. Ms. Ellen Brown who

assisted the search process from the executive search firm of Heidrick & Struggles; and

Dr. Michele M. Thompson, secretary.

MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Eppley, referring to Section Two of the Open Meetings Act, stated: "A motion is

now in order to hold an executive session to consider information regarding University

employee matters.

The motion was made by Mr. Sperling, seconded by Dr. Carroll, and

approved by the following vote: Aye, Mr. Bruce, Dr. Carroll, Mr. Dorris, Mr. Eppley,

Mr. Montgomery, Dr. Schmidt, Mr. Sperling, Mr. Vickrey; no, none; absent, Mr. Asonye,

Governor Blagojevich, Mr. Shah.

(The student advisory vote was: Absent, Ms. Doyle, Mr. Shakeel.)

There being no further business, the Board adjourned.

MICHELE M. THOMPSON

*Secretary* 

LAWRENCE C. EPPLEY

Chair